is a composer, pianist, scholar, and educator.



Born and raised in New England, Michael spent his formative years immersed in omnivorous musical activity: absorbing the strains of Jewish cantillation, performing piano concerti, leading jazz combos, accompanying musicals and gospel groups, conducting Renaissance choral music, and studying Southeast Indian classical (Karnatak) music in Chennai. His work — composition, writing, and teaching alike — reflects a uniquely broad versatility and depth of humanist inquiry.

Michael’s new vaudeville oratorio, The Black Clown, will premiere at the American Repertory Theater in their 2018–19 season. Starring bass-baritone Davóne Tines, and featuring a libretto co-written by Michael and Mr. Tines, the category-resistant work realizes the poetic vision of Langston Hughes’ dramatic monologue of the same name.

Highlights of the 2017–18 season include premieres with the the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra, a consortium of wind ensembles led by the University of Michigan, and saxophonist Emmett Rapaport; the unveiling of a new dramatic theater piece “Were You There” with Davóne Tines, which will feature at New York’s Resonant Bodies Festival and at the American Modern Opera Company’s residency at the American Repertory Theater; and additional performances at the 2017 Ojai Festival, the National Flute Association’s national conference, and by groups such as the Bloomington Symphony, Occasional Symphony, and EnsembleNewSRQ.

In recent years, Michael’s music has been commissioned and performed by ensembles such as the Minnesota Orchestra, the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra, the Boise Philharmonic, the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, the Naples Philharmonic Orchestra, Alarm Will Sound, the 21st Century Consort (the resident new music ensemble of the Smithsonian institution), the Brentano Quartet, the Concord Chorus and Orchestra, the Masterworks Chorale and Orchestra, the Vocal Essence Ensemble Singers, the New York Virtuoso Singers, the Berkeley Community Chorus and Orchestra, and chamber groups and collegiate ensembles around the country. His works have received honors from organizations such as BMI, ASCAP, and the American Composers Forum.

As a scholar, Michael’s research interests include the philosophy of music (especially aesthetics, epistemology, and ethics), pedagogy, early music, jazz, New Orleans music, and the classical music of South India. Current projects include a monograph on musical epistemology (the philosophy of musical knowledge). His scholarly articles have been published in journals such as the Society for Music Theory’s online journal Music Theory Online, The Indiana Theory Review, and Music and Literature, and he has presented his work at regional and national conferences. In March 2016, Michael gave the keynote address at the Bowling Green State University Graduate Conference.

Michael spent the 2009-2010 academic year in Chennai, India studying South Indian classical singing and vina playing. While living in Chennai, Michael and his wife, Allie, lived and worked at an NGO that provides a wide array of human services, and upon returning to the United States they started a non-profit organization that sponsors education and living expenses for child victims of human trafficking.

Michael currently lives in Ann Arbor, MI with his wife, Allie, and young son, Ronan. He remains an unapologetic fan of Boston sports.


American Repertory Theater Commission

The American Repertory Theater commissioned a new evening-length musical show based on Langston Hughes’ dramatic monologue “The Black Clown,” starring bass-baritone Davóne Tines in the title role. In addition to composing the music, Michael will co-write the libretto with Mr. Tines. The work will premiere in the fall of 2018.

Davóne Tines and Michael Schachter perform Were You There at New York’s Resonant Bodies Festival

Michael and Davóne Tines’ new dramatic theater piece Were You There kicks off the 2017 Resonant Bodies Festival. See coverage in the New York Times and elsewhere.

Davóne Tines and Brentano Quartet perform Amazing Grace at Ojai

Michael and Davóne Tines’ co-arrangement/reimagining of “Amazing Grace” is featured at the 2017 Ojai Music Festival, performed by Davóne and the amazing Brentano Quartet.

Knoxville Symphony Commission

Aram Demirjian and the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra have commissioned a new work for the 2017–18 season.
Update: Michael’s commissioned work Overture to Knoxville helps the Knoxville Symphony kick off the 2017–18 season to rave reviews.

Wind Ensemble Consortium Commission

Led by the University of Michigan Concert Band, a consortium of eleven wind ensembles across the United States has commissioned a new work based on South Indian musical influences, slated for premiere in the fall of 2017.

A Multitude of Angels Review Published

Michael’s review of Keith Jarrett’s new release A Multitude of Angels appears in the journal/periodical Music and Literature.

Harvard University Commencement Commission

Michael has been commissioned to compose a new work for SATB Chorus and Concert Band for Harvard University’s 366th Commencement Exercises.

Cabrillo Festival

Michael is named a composer fellow at the 2016 Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music (July 31–August 13), where his work Five-Six-Seven-Eight is featured in performances led by conductors Lina Marcela Gonzalez and Valentina Peleggi.

Premiere of Oratorio “Uriel”

Kevin Leong and the Concord Chorus and Orchestra premiere Uriel, a twenty-minute choral-orchestral work based on the poetry of Ralph Waldo Emerson, at their 70th anniversary concert (May 2016).

Carnegie Hall Premiere

The New York Youth Symphony premieres Michael’s Sonata da Camera for violin, cello, clarinet, and piano at concerts in Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall and Symphony Space in New York City (April–May 2016).

Brehm Prize and Performance

Michael’s Five-Six-Seven-Eight is awarded the inaugural Brehm Prize in instrumental composition. Oriol Sans leads the Contemporary Directions Ensemble in a performance at Britton Recital Hall in Ann Arbor (April 2016).

Keynote Address at BGSU Graduate Conference

Michael gives the keynote address at the Bowling Green State University Graduate Conference. As part of his residency, Michael also performs the first movement of his Fiddle Suite for cello and piano with Aleks Tengesdal.

Copyright 2013-17 by Michael Schachter. michael.schachter [at] gmail.com