2007 – for Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Piano (20:00)


Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Movement: “Aphorism” for Clarinet; Annick Odom, clarinet


This work’s title refers to the extensive body of works by my first composition teacher and great mentor, Alla Elana Cohen. In this piece, I don’t emulate her tonal language, per se, but I try to capture the fervent intensity and bare faith that permeates her music. The entire ensemble plays together during first and last movements, while the middle movements consist of solos and duo pairings drawn from the instrumental forces.



January 2011 (“Aphorism for Clarinet)
Britton Recital Hall, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Annick Odom, Clarinet


Funded by a McKinley Entrepreneurial Grant

Winner of the 2008 Hugh F. MacColl Prize at Harvard

Copyright 2013-20 by Michael Schachter. michael.schachter [at] gmail.com